12 comments on “Happiness Quotient

  1. Put on a smile each day-that’s happiness ! It has been thought that for each smile, you increase your life expectancy and increase the Happiness quotient amongst your loved ones.

  2. A smile costs nothing but gives much. It enriches those who receive without making poorer those who give. It takes but a moment, but the memory of it sometimes lasts forever. None is so rich or mighty that he cannot get along without it and none is so poor that he cannot be made rich by it. Yet a smile cannot be bought, begged, borrowed, or stolen, for it is something that is of no value to anyone until it is given away. Some people are too tired to give you a smile. Give them one of yours, as none needs a smile so much as he who has no more to give. ~Author Unknown

  3. This was interesting. Sometimes I’m happy sometimes I’m not. But I agree with Bette Davis, it usually does depend on expectations. I think happiness is over-rated. Can’t be happy all the time. If you’re unhappy then you wouldn’t know when you are happy…it’s a strange thought. Yin and yang…can’t have yang all the time, need the yin to appreciate and balance the yang.

    But smiling? It’s always good to give one…unless it’s a sad occasion…then it would be cruel, I guess…

    I like the stuff you’ve got here in your blog, Sir. Lots of food for thought.

    More of my 2cents, hope you didn’t mind :-)

    Cheers,
    Mary

    • Hi, thanks for reading some of my earlier posts. When I first retired, I thought more about life and other more philosophical matters. Now, I think more about colors / photos / learning / exercise. Thank you for the kind comment :-)

      • I think a lot of bloggers started out that way. I like reading your thoughts, you have a perspective that I’ll probably never have and there are many lessons to learn that you’re sharing there. I’ll keep reading the older ones, if that’s all right :-)

      • Hi My Tropical Home, I am glad that you are reading some of my earlier posts which give some of my thoughts. In fact, I think my earlier posts are better written than those recently written about my travels. Many thanks for the perusal and comment :-)

  4. Would expectation be different from hope? If one has a rare illness, would hope give some relief or can one hope without expecting it to be realized?

    • Hi, that is a very philosophical question. I think you can expect something to happen, based on the best of knowledge and advice. At the same time, you can hope that things will turn up to be better than expected – with God’s help, with prayers, with miracles etc. Hope you would agree (but not expecting you to agree). Thank you :-)

Leave a Reply

