52 comments on “Autumn in Shirakawa-Go, Japan

    • We were fortunate to be there at the right time. With global warming, the weather is becoming more unpredictable. Thanks very much for visiting and following my blog. I like your blog too, especially the “sleeping dinosaur” photo.

  1. I understand that the night scene looks wonderful too. I wonder whether there are skiing facilities in the winter as the snow is thick and powdery.
    Did you have to stop in Tokyo and take a train ? I have found that the flight schedule from HK to Japan is not convenient and two days are ‘wasted’ just to get to/from the airport.

  2. Pingback: Shirakawa-go and Gokayama, UNESCO World Heritage Site | Fae's Twist & Tango

    • Your picture taken at a high level of the Shirakawa-go is just lovely. I would like to take a similar photo when I am there next time. I guess winter there would also be lovely!

    • All I needed was a far away view of the Shirakawa-go village similar to what is depicted in photo of Wikimedia Commons. However, I know I couldn’t ask for more. Thank you for the kind comment :-)

  3. Autumn is my favorite time of the year I think and these pictures remind me why. The houses sound fascinating–it says a lot about tried and true building methods that continue to hold up. A truly beautiful place-I loved all the images here-but the picture of the house and paddy field does look like a painting-

    • You may also want to see these A-frame houses under heavy snow when the whole village is pure white. Someday, I will be back in Shirakawa-Go on a snowy day! Thanks for the perusal and the comment :-)

  4. So beautiful with the autumn colours – thanks for sharing. I spent Christmas day there, about 6 years ago. Thick snow on the roofs, hot rice wine by a heater, and almost no-one there!

    • Winter is the season when I would like to be back at Shirakawa-Go; I’m sure you had an unforgettable experience there. Thank you for the kind comment:-)

  5. The momiji red Japanese Maple leaves are definitely a very unique and stunningly beautiful color. I never had any idea just how colorful autumn could be until I visited Japan. The timing of my visit to Shirakawa-go wasn’t as good as yours – I saw more colored leaves going over the mountains en-route to the village than I saw while I was there – but it is a place that I would like to visit again some autumn.

    • Hi, I would like to visit it again when it is snowing; hopefully it won’t be too cold in the Winter. Thank you for the perusal and kind words :-)

  6. Thank you so much for these pictures of a paradise on earth. I had no idea Japan is so colorful in the fall. How little I know about our Asian neighbors! Hmmm…. I’m glad I can learn through your blog here.

  7. Could you please tell me the exact date you went? Btw, Shirakawa-go is most beautiful in winter; I stayed 1 night there on late January last year. I also had a 1 day visit there again this year in April.

  8. Bonjour Michael,
    magnifiques photos. Nous avons nous aussi, dans le nord de l’Amérique, au CANADA, de magnifiques couleurs tout comme les vôtres. Nous sommes actuellement au temps de toute cette palette de couleurs que la nature nous offre. Peut-être qu’un jour vous aurez le désir de venir nous visiter pour les admirer.
    Bienvenue au CANADA.

    • Bonjour Ghislaine, hope I can respond in French – however, I only learn it for one year and will not be able to do so. many thanks for liking the post and the greetings from Canada. Merci :-)

  9. Hi , which date/month in autumn did you go? Cos normally those autumn dates that i go , the leaf already drop.

  10. Hello Mr. Lai :)

    After reading I was impressed and decided to post it to my blog.
    I’m writing this to let you know that a few of your pics would be used there.

    Thank you for a great post and nice pics!

  11. Pingback: ทัวร์ญี่ปุ่น ชิราคาวาโกะJapan Expert เจแปน เอ๊กซ์เพิร์ท รับจัดทัวร์ญี่ปุ่น เที่ยวญี่ปุ่น ดูงานญี่

Leave a Reply

