98 comments on “Watching Kois in West Lake (Xihu) Hangzhou, China

    • Hi Qiquan, first please excuse me for not being able to type Chinese characters. With your peotic disposition, I am sure you will like Xihu in the rain. The feeling I have this time is quite different from previous. Although I have not been able to take as many pictures as I would have liked because of the rain, the pictures do give a feel of serenity and even somewhat melancholy! Michael

      • Dear Michael,

        I like to go to the same place many times, with different atmosphere, weather etc. This is the way to know a place we love. Taking photo in the rain, or in raining, can be a opportunity sometime to get some beautiful and very different shots. I come to learn this sometime ago, because when we feel the beauty with our heart, we will come to see the opportunity for a beautiful shot. It’s a challenge, I know, to discover the secret of nature.

        Thank you for your wonderful reply, and when I am visiting their, I don’t want to bring my sadness there, the poems I have written, are too intense for me because all are my true feelings, and life experiences. I know, I am still too young to you =).

        kc

      • Hi Qiquan, usually my trips are relatively short and I have no choice on the weather, so come rain, come shine, I will get my camera out and take photos of whatever I consider appealing. Thanks for the comment! Michael

    • Hi, you will like the place. The local authorities has lots of bicycles for rent where you can pick up one at one place and return it at another place.. A very nice place to visit . . . . . .

    • For ages, West Lake is a well known tourist destination. Not sure why it was only added by UNESCO last year. Your comment about my description is very encouraging! Regards, Michael

    • Hi yepirategunn, thanks for your always encouraging comment! Westlake is in Hangzhou. Both Hangzhou and Shouzhou have great Chinese gardens which have influenced the garden designs in China and other places overseas. Regards, Michael

    • Hi angelamsbrightside, glad that you like the pictures. I especially like the penultimate picture with the kois clattering together to the water surface. Thanks for the comment! Michael

  1. I lived in Hangzhou for 2 years recently. I loved going to Xi Hu often because there is so much to see in that area, and it is different depending on the weather. Lovely photos!

    • You are lucky to have lived out there for 2 years. I am sure you are more knowledgable of the place. This is the first time that we walked all four sides of the lake and also took a trip to XiXi. Thanks foor the comment! Michael

  2. Love how the rain has brought a dream-like state to your photos. I don’t know what it is about kois but I could watch them all day and take a ton of photos – my husband doesn’t understand my fascination with them, lol!

    • I too can look at kois all day. Individually, I like them with a good mix of colors. But in schools, I rather like them in different shades of similar colors, rushing about in groups like what I have shown in the pictures. Thanks for the comments May!

  3. These pictures are beautiful, Michael! Amazing to see these big, pretty Koi fish in the lake and you caught them in the middle of the movement. Your pictures are excellent! Have a lovely weekend! :-) Best wishes from this side of the world :-)

      • Thank you, Michael! I am off traveling. Will post photos from there :-) I trust it will be something interesting for you too, you globetrotter :-) HAve a great weekend!

      • Hi happyface313, it is amazing that you post photos while travelling, I have never done that before! For sure, I will be interested to peruse your posts. Safe travels and regards, Michael

  4. Michael, thanks for liking my post and helping me discover your blog. The koi in your picture reminded me of a beautiful water garden we came across on our travels through Japan.
    Agree – I could watch them all day too!
    ~M

    • The orientals like kois very much. A favourite subject for are 9 kois in a painting for the Chinese as it signifies fortune and bliss. It looks like we share the same joy of watching kois. Thanks for the comment! Michael

  5. Wonderful photos as usual!

    My wife has been bugging me about taking her to China for several years now. After looking at your pictures and prose over the past few months I think I will let you plan my itinerary :)

    • I will be pleased to give some suggestions on tours to China, but it depends a lot on what you like to see and how much of China you have already covered and which month you will be there. I think my posts may serve as inital screening. Thanks for your kind comment balltobay! Michael

  6. Michael, that second picture from the bottom (with all the koi swirling up to the surface) is amazing. The picture itself is mesmerizing- I can only imagine what it was like in real life. Great post.

    • Hi msdulce, I agree the penultimate picture is the best of the lot. With several photos to show, I have tried to build up the atmosphere before reading this photo. Real life will be more interesting as you can actually see the movements in close-ups! Michael

  7. Hi Michael

    I really enjoyed your post. Some beautiful pictures as always. You really do get about! I would like to share the first picture in the series if that is alright in tomorrow’s post at soulsnet. The post is about making time for ourselves and I am including a photograph that I took on my local golf course. I couldn’t believe your first shot here, it could just as easily be a picture of one of our fairways.

    I will credit and link back to you of course.
    Thanks so much for visiting and liking soulsnet. I really appreciate it.

    Regards
    Corinne

  8. Pingback: How can I create more time for myself? | soulsnet

    • In West Lake, they have a tourist spot known as “Flower Harbor Watching Fishes” where they also have a lot of kois; but I think the area I went for watching kois is more natural and better.

  9. West Lake is so beautiful and enchanting. I had the privilege to see its beauty on a rowboat in June two years ago. No wonder Marco Polo described Hangzhou as the most magnificent place in the world. Thank you for sharing these lovely pictures.

  10. Pingback: the koi and us « my sweetpainteddreams

  11. Pingback: The Last Days of Autumn in West Lake, China « retireediary

Leave a Reply

