66 comments on “Goodbye West Lake, China

  1. One of my goals this past year was to learn more about China! I find that visiting you blog has given me a glimpse into the vast beauty of this amazing country. Thank you!

    • May I chime in here…since Clanmother is my friend? I had also been to Inner Mongolia, Shanxi , Beijing , Westlake …I will follow your tours! There are so much to see in China, in terms of cultural, art, nature, history….

  2. As always Michael, your photos are so serene and beautiful. That’s a great view to the lake, must have been an exhilarating climb. I can hardly believe the detail in the wood carving, a master craftsman to be sure. Do you know what kind of wood he used? The original Temple must have been well built to last almost 1,000 years…hopefully the reconstruction does as well and your future ancestors can also visit this beautiful place.

    • Hi Boomdeeadda, I have no idea of the type of wood used in the carving. However, the massive wall hanging woodcarving: Madam White Snake inside Leifeng Pagoda in Hangzhou is a masterpiece of Dongyang Woodcarving. What you see in my photo is a part of several large wood carvings I should have taken a panoraamic view of the carvings and stitch them together. Dongyang Woodcarving, used in depicting folklores and historical events, is mainly used to embellish the wood furniture. Slightly varnished, it shows the wood grain clearly so that one can appreciate the skillful, exquisite carving. Rgards, chael

    • Hi Tracy, I hope one day you would be able to visit China which is a vast country with many cultures, history, natural scenaries and development. Thank you for your kind comment! Michael

    • Hi Francine, I hope my readers are not bored by my several posts on West Lake. I think I must move on to other topics. Thanks again for the blessing. Regards, Michael

  3. Once again have you taken me on a magical tour … with beautiful views. Even in rain you bring us a beautiful existence fare away. My favorite photo is Yue Fei Temple – with all the soft colors, the dusk and the reflections in the rain wet surfaces.

  4. Thanks for taking time from your busy travels to drop by my blog. Curious as to how you discovered it. From one retiree to a fellow retiree: Life is goooood, isn’t it? Cheers

      • Curious if you can remember which “Topic” in Reader you were following: “Nature?” Thanks for the reply – I’m always wondering how to draw more readers into my blog about elephants. Happy Trails!

      • Hi Cheryl, I usually peruse the topics Travel and Weekly Phot Challenge in te Reader; I guess it was where I stumbled on your blog! Regards, Michael

      • Thanks for your reply, Michael. FYI, it seems that a lot of the people who found my blog came to it from different topics and by routes other than WordPress. I just started Pinterest and received a follow from that website. I love how small the world is getting! Thanks!

  5. I love your photography so much. I always feel as if I’m there, in the landscape. I like to take my time gazing at the many interesting details. Thank you for sharing these images.

    • Hi, The massive wall hanging woodcarving: Madam White Snake inside Leifeng Pagoda in Hangzhou is a masterpiece of Dongyang Woodcarving. What you see in my photo is a part of several large wood carvings. I should have taken a panoramic view of the carvings and stitch them together for sharing. Dongyang Woodcarving, used in depicting folklores and historical events, is mainly used to embellish the wood furniture. Slightly varnished, it shows the wood grain clearly so that one can appreciate the skillful, exquisite carving. Rgards, Michael

    • Hi Fernando, thanks so much for the nomination. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world is already my biggest reward. With regret, I have to decline the nomination. Thank you once again for the nomination which is very much appreciated! Regards, Michael

  6. Yes indeed west lake is a great place and I always don’t really feel that I’m in China whenever I’m here.

    I will want to spend some time traveling the whole of China.

    • Good thing with West Lake is that you can walk around the whole lake to your own pace; it has an open view so you don’t really feel you are in China. . .it could just be any lovely lake. I also like XiXi vey much (if interested, see my other post). Worth to spend more time in China before places are getting too touristy and RMB too high!

Leave a Reply

