50 comments on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – Ups and Downs of Outdoors

  1. That looks like a serious fitness challenge and yes beautiful too. You might think that after 1800 years it would need some maintenance, they must have been brilliant mathematicians to construct something with such longevity. I have my doubts about this condo we’re in and it’s only 10 years old. Ha.

    • Some parts of the wall were constructed more than 2200 years ago. In around 220BC, the walls were connected together and new walls built. Of course, considerable lengths of the wall were renovated / rebuilt.

    • You are right, the photo was taken where the foliage contrast those with lighter color further away. As the picture also shows that we have to go like a yo-yo up and down the length of the wall, I have chosen this photo which I think also fits the theme of the challenge. Thanks for the kind comment!

  2. This is a very beautiful picture. I followed a tour group so went to Baidaling section instead back a decade again. I was younger then, I still find it difficult to climb those steps. Well done to you and your family!

    • Have been to both sections and consider the Mutianyu section more beautiful. I think one has to physically prepare for the Great Wall if long walks are intended. Regards, Michael

    • Hi Kat, thanks so much for the nomination which is very much appreciated. At my age I have to consider using my time more carefully. I woud rather write a few more posts or doing other things I cherish than going through the nomination process. Best wishes & regards, Michael

      • At any age, one should be so wise to carefully consider how they spend their time! I enjoy sharing with others your blog, as they may enjoy it as much as I do, so I hope you do not mind that I bestow the honor anyway! Your blog is a beautiful piece of work, so I am happy you choose to spend time on more posts or pursuing other activities that may lead to more photos to share. Cheers!

      • You are so right. I need quite a few photos to maintain my pace of blogging and to do that I need to travel more . I am very happy to be nominated and consider it an honor. Many thanks, Michael

  3. Hello Michael, Your subjects and photography are always MAGNIFICENT! Are the photos current as you go, or are they from your travel over the time? Your photos give me awe and joy. Thank you! :D Fae.

  4. I enjoy the fall colors with the Great Wall. My most recent trip there was last December and the snow was falling lightly. Struggled to get a photo to show how it snakes around and across the mountain. It reminded me that this portion of China has not always been so serene. There was a lot of fear required to go to that much effort to keep the side from getting in.

      • I am grateful that I have not had to experience the level of fear necessary to go to the extremes that the wall represents. People so often forget that many great engineering feats were driven by a desire to do something a little simpler or to feel more secure. The Khan and others made that difficult for the Chinese for centuries. Something to be learned from remembering that we need to all just get along.

      • The walls protected ancient China from being invaded by “barbarians”. Even if they have conquered ancient China, they usually merged into the culture which they admired at the time.

Leave a Reply

