57 comments on “Travel Theme: Circles

  1. Hi Michael, Another great post of another of my favourite places. The Blue Mosque is a wonder to behold and deserves to be one of the great places in the world to visit. I love your description of how you felt in there.
    Cheers, Chris Gregory, NZ

    • Hi Chris, in the Blue Mosques, I was impressed by the vast column free space, the domes and the lights. I think it is a must see. Thanks for the kind comment! Michael

    • Hi Margaret, thanks for the comment. For the benefit of those who have not visited the place, I think I should have included a bit more explanation on each of the photos. Regards, Michael

  2. Thanks for posting such awesome pictures… I also enjoyed finding Einstein’s quote on yur text. By the way, thanks for checking on my posts and sending the feedback, I appreciate it!

  3. I’m not a religious individual but I do appreciated that churches, thru the ages have been the guardians of art, history and often the family records in many communities. With the exception of royalty, churches likely were the only ones with the means to build these marvels thru the ages and then continue their upkeep. It’s a beautiful piece of architecture you’ve chosen for today, thanks again for sharing with us.

    • Hi, I was also amazed at the number of people they can acomodate in this vast coloumn free space. It is indeed a very beautiful piece of architecture. Thanks for the comment! Michael

  4. I may not be as clever as Einstein, but in my math class, I was taught circle: {z : |z|=1} or {(x,y): x^2 + y^2 =r}, then sphere: {(x,y,z): x2 + y2 + z2 = r2}. And to extend it to your four dimensional dome: {(x,y,z,w): x2 + y2 + z2+ w2 = r2}! You’re welcome!

      • yeah, but with time, you cannot add, because Einstein tells us we should minus (or multiply by speed of light first then square then minus). so in the Minkowski geometry the reality with space and time (spheriod?) is {(x,y,z,t): x^2 + y^2 + z^2 – (ct)^2 = 1}. I hope I am not confusing you. I am trying very hard not to go there.

    • Hi Sanjana, like many photo challenges, the Circles theme is just something which allowed me bringing out the beauty of the mosque. Thanks for the comment! Michael

  5. Hi Michael – I want to take a moment to say hi and tell you how excited I am to read more about your life and thoughts. Thank you for being an inspiration to me as I embark on a similar journey…enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

