62 comments on “From Photos to Oil Paintings

  1. This is a fascinating idea Michael, but your photos are generally so beautiful they don’t need any type of conversion. Always a pleasure to view your blog. :-)

    • Hi Mjolnir, you’re quite right. I find out not every photo is suitable to be converted to Oil, especially those with a lot of tiny but pleasing details. I just tried it out for fun. Thanks for the kind comment! Regards, Michael

    • The program Faststone Image Reviwer can be downloaded free. You are right, the photos are something else. If you ask me, I love the photos more than the converted Oils. Regards, Michael

  2. Lovely, I’ve used Photoshop before. I used to have access to the full version, but am now making due with the Elements 9. I would love to know which program you used. Thanks.

  3. Absolutely stunning! I especially love the beach and field of gold — I could definitely imagine seeing an artist’s painting of these places in a museum somewhere. But it’s a good thing technology is here for us non-painter folk (and painters who don’t have enough time)!

    • Hi Joshua, I love the two pictures you mentioned too. Some people are now painting to make things look as if they are real; I am just doing the opposite. I hope one of those would look like a painting from Van Gough! Michael

  4. These are wonderful. They have added an extra quality to your already beautiful work. I love experimenting, too, so I’m going to download your Faststone programme and have a go myself. Thank you for sharing.

    • I have that feeling too. I was too humble to mention that to reader Joshua – I only said one of those looks like a Van Gogh. The fact is, it only looks like – but still far from it!

  5. Amazing what we can do with all software’s today … I would love to see the original photos too. Beautiful job here, but I think the original photos are much better.

  6. Hi Michael…these look amazing! I didn’t know that this could be done…beautiful effects! Merry Xmas and Season’s Greetings to you and your loved ones :)

  7. One of my picture programs is Microsoft Digital Imaging Suite which has lots of “filters” that produce all sorts of watercolor and paint effects. I print them up and make them into greeting cards. They come out great! I’ve also printed them on watercolor paper and framed them! Perfect for the painter “wantabe”!

  8. There is such a depth to your photographs on the iPhone they still looked like photographs,no problem for me!!
    I like especially the clouds and distant mountains in the bay at koi Samui,Thailand
    And the expanse of gold in the Golden field of Lithuania . We have a golden field here I pass on my way to meditation on Saturdays but nowhere to stop to take the photograph!! I will have to figure that one out!

    • Hi Suesilver, glad that my images appear good on the iPhone (something I still do not have). Like you, I love sceneries which connotes a sense of serenity. Merry Christmas!

    • Hi brickthomas, thanks so much for the nomination which I understand is an important award. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (150 countries) is already my biggest reward. With regret, I have to decline the nomination. Thank you once again for the nomination which is very much appreciated! Regards, Michael

  9. Wow..you do great jobs Michael ! All the pictures are so stunning and so fine. I like Field of Golds so much cause it is like a Van Gogh’s painting taken in Provence.. Like to see more if any..Have great holiday !

  10. Very lovely! My photo software has made me a very lazy artist. I no longer wish to take hours to make a painting from my photos, as I used to, but try to apply the Designer Effects to see how to best manipulate my photo into art. God Bless!

    • Would you think that an unmanipulated painting will worth the effort? Or do you think using a software you achieve your desired effect more quickly? Will be interested to know. Thanks for the kind comment!

  11. Your photo from the “shadows” of the coastline of Hvar Island with the vacant benches would be pretty as impressionistic. It might be interesting to put more red in in it, to accentuate the tile and the roofs of the houses on the hill in the background. Your work is really fun to see. I feel like I get to be part of the process. . . Of these, I like “The Fields of Gold” best. :)

Leave a Reply

