61 comments on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – 2012 Best People Or Animal

  1. Have enjoyed your postings since following your blog – an example to everyone that there is life after retirement! I Use your blog when demonstrating ” blogging” in my computer classes delivered to “Seniors” ( average age 75) ie a few generations who missed out on the IT revolution. Happy New Year and keep up those posts!

    • Hi budge4ward, I was born at an age when we used punch cards and later command statements and magnetic cards to run programs. I am almost computer illiterate. You are absoultely correct, there is life after work. We shouldn’t be afraid of retirement just because we don’t know how to spend the time. There are lots of things we can pursue. Happy New year to you too!

  2. Your SIL has captured a moment in that face, I love it. It’s interesting that one so young is wearing adornments. Bravo to the kind and caring souls that tirelessly work to better the lives of little ones like this…I’m not sure I could ever do it.

  3. Thank you for an excellent post. The volunteers are indeed the great people!
    I recommended your blog to a friend from Hong Kong, as her friend also writes blogs.
    Wish you the best in 2013!

  4. The eyes of “Hope” indeed. She is adorable. Her curiousity spills through her eyes, as well. I’m sure she was fascinated b the power of the camera. Perhaps, someday, her life will become as powerful as her image. Great Photo …..

    • Well said, she is filled with curiosity. After seeing this picture, I googled for images of babies / children in Botswana and still find that she is the most beautiful/ adorable I have ever seen. I sincerely hope she will live a good and happy life!

    • Great, never thought I will receive a response from someone from Botswana! I must admit I still don’t know much about this country. I am sure I will learn more about it from your blog. Thank you, Michael

  5. Yes, this is a look of hope – whereas the photo from the National Geographic seems to me more one of wonder and mystery…best to you and yours in the new year, Michael! – Bill

    • Hi Bill, I like those eyes and the face. Just like the Afghan Girl, it will be great if we can trace her back after some years to see if she is doing well.
      Have a lovely weekend! Michael

  6. So true what you say – far too many children are having an unfair life – and in some countries children are just being killed by their own government – instead of aiming for the moon and planets – we should aiming for helping children on earth instead. A wonderful little face, but not happy … All children should be laughing.

    • You are very perceptive, it looks as if she may have cried, her eyes are a bit watery. I have to ask my sister in law about the situation under which the photo was taken. You are right, all children should be happy and cheerful!

  7. This one takes my breath away and tugs at my heartstrings! your sister-in-law caught the spirit of this child beautifully! I’ve seen some of your people and animal shots, and although I adore your landscape images, I think you are being too hard on yourself concerning portrait photog. :-)

    • Maybe I have no patience in taking photos of people and animals. One of the lousy pictures I have taken recently, for instance, is the jet of the strong fountain water in Geneva lake coming up directly from behind my wife’s head!

  8. I’m with you in that my portraiture photography is hopeless!!! Although I think you may be selling yourself short – this shot is just beautiful! You’ve captured those eyes perfectly.

  9. Taking photos of people is tough! Because it is all about being able to capture that moment and that’s something that comes and goes so quickly. That said, the satisfaction is nearly emotional! Wishing you all the best in your quest in capturing some really good people photos! ^_^

    • Agree very much you say about capturing people. I consider taking pictures of people more difficult than taking landscape pictures. Maybe, I should polish my skills in this respect in 2013. Thanks & regards, Michael

  10. A beautiful photo of the child, so sweet and innocent. I know of the photo you speak of, the woman with the piercing green eyes, a fabulous photo. She was tracked down by a group and interviewed some years later. She had had a child and was still hanging on. Great post!

    • I was thrilled to find a side by side picture comparison of the Afghan girl then and now on the internet. It is great that she looks well. Thanks very much for the continued perusal and support throughout the year!

    • Hi simplecherishes, thanks so much for the nominations which I understand are important awards. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (156 countries) is already my biggest reward. With regret, I have to decline the nominations. Thank you once again for the nomination which is very much appreciated! Regards, Michael

  11. Wonderful photo (congratulations to your sister in law), and a wonderful, compassionate post. I too remember that National Geo photo of the Afghan girl with the sea-green eyes. (And did you see the follow-up, so many years later, when she was found again and received a copy of that photograph?) I am so happy to have “met” you this year through our blogging. All the best for 2013

    • I am also very happy to have “met” you at WordPress. I have a good look of the pictrues of the Afghan girl then and now and was impressed how similar they look after all these years. Thanks very much for following my blog throughtout the year. Happy New year to you!

  12. This is a very beautiful picture of a child! I used to do a lot of portraits of friends and relatives a long time ago, so I always have a soft spot for a well taken portrait, and this is such a perfectly posed picture, and yet it isn’t posed in a formal sense. Your sister in law Jennie did an excellent job!
    Suzy :D

Leave a Reply

