111 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

  1. Hi Michael

    What a lovely way to start 2013, on a trip around the world with you!! What a wonderful range of places you have visited, such a collection of memories to take home with you in your camera. I look forward to travelling more with you in 2013. I love it when your posts hit my inbox because I know I am in for a treat.

    You inspire me to take photographs and to go travelling. We are going to Portugal for a week on Saturday so I shall be sure to take my camera with me and capture some lovely images for future posts.

    A very happy new year to you.
    Warm regards
    Corinne

    • Hi Corinne,
      Glad that you will be visiting Portugal. I like Lisbon and Sintra which I think must not be missed.
      Happy new year to you and your loved ones!
      Michael

  2. You can always write the stories on Inner Mongolia and other parts of China later, Michael. Even though you have posted a few pictures here. Anyway, Happy New Year!

  3. Through your photo challenges I felt walking through those beautiful places.. We look forward to see your amazing photographs in 2013 too.

    Wish you a very happy and prosperous new year!

  4. OMG Michael, you are such an avid traveller and I look forward to more of your photos. I travel vicariously through your amazing photos… this year should be another set of adventures for you!

  5. Switzerland is beautiful and peaceful just like you said it. As far as I can remember, it was peaceful when I visited. Looking forward to more of your travel pictures. Happy New Year, Michael

  6. I dream of a day I can travel to Annecy France. Wouldn’t it be just so beautiful to have swans swim past your door? Looking forward to 2013 and all that gives to us from your fabulous diary.

  7. Michael, thanks for the fabulous photos. The one of the Mongolian desert looked almost like a painting. Since we are unable to travel much right now due to my husband’s chemo, your blog is a great source of vicarious adventure! Happy 2013 and safe travels.

    • Hi Julia, glad that you like the desert photo. I will post more on this later. Hope you hubby’s condition is getting better and Happy New Year to you and your hubby!

      • I visited Mongolia very briefly when I passed through on the Trans Mongolian express way back in 1989. I imagine it may have changed since then. The thing that remains most in my memory is the smell of cabbage and the greasy meals with tiny bits of fat floating in the watery gravy

      • Yes, I think they like using quite a lot of fat, maybe, fat from sheep. One day, I would like to travel on the Trans-Siberian railway to see what it is like to travel from Beijing to Europe!

      • Fantatsic! Did you take showers on the train? Some people said they have to take showers when they stopped at various places because it was quite inconvenient to do so on the train.

  8. Happy New Year Michael! The Budapest picture is quite inspirational – I think your next photo challenge should be to take photos of unique shops or strange bottles and cans… would be a laugh!

    • Hi, I like window shopping and taking photos of markets and shop windows. Thank you for your suggestion. When I have a good collection of such photos; I would like to post them. Happy New Year to You! Michael

  9. Michael, that was a delightful photo essay and I enjoyed it very much. One of my goals for 2013 is to choose another corner of the world to visit with my children. Your travels really get me to thinking!

    • Hi brissiemaz, thanks so much for the nomination which I understand is an important award. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (160 countries) is already my biggest reward. With regret, I have to decline the nomination. Thank you once again for the nomination which is very much appreciated! Regards, Michael

  10. Your picture of the Great Wall is amazing! I hope to see it in person during our term in China. We will be living and working in Dalian from late February until the end of June.

  11. Lovely, lovely, images-I especially like the marketplace in Budapest-wonderful color! I look forward to reading more about your travels and viewing your wonderful photos-and thank you too for taking the time to look at my blog-as a new blogger I appreciate it very much-

Leave a Reply

