68 comments on “A Word a Week: Island

  1. The island second from the right looks to be floating on top of the water. Yes, a surreal photo. I especially like pictures that evoke memories and this brings to mind children’s book I read (many years ago), fictional stories about living on islands or sailing to islands. I, too, wanted to sail off to an island. Thanks for the memory, Michael.

  2. Beautiful photo and quote. Corny, but it reminds me of the TV series “Lost” and all the scenery from Hawaii. Where I have yet to visit! Thanks, Michael.

  3. I do agree, we all are islands in a way. And lately I just really would love to be for a week or so with only my daughter with me. Lovely photo. As always!

  4. Beautiful pics, as usual!

    So can anyone join the word of the week? Just curious because I see different challenges out there and sometimes use it for a blog topic, not really intending to challenge or compete with anyone. It’s just fun :-)

  5. Stunning pic! Hey, I’ve missed you – I found out why I wasn’t getting any of my notifications. They were being shunted to my spam folder – even my own! Not bad for me. :-)

  6. Quite an interesting photo! One of my favorite writers, Ashleigh Brilliant, has said “No man is an island, but some of us are long peninsulas! Recently we visited the very small and charming island of Captiva, in Florida (USA). I highly recommend it if you like small, relaxing islands. It is adjacent to the slightly larger Sanibel Island, through which you have to travel to get to Captiva.

    • Hi Julia, I have just checked out images of Captiva; it looks really charming. I will make sure I’ll get to this island if I should come and visit Florida. many thanks for the information and comment!

  7. Beautiful! We’ve got plenty of islands here, too. Some day I want to travel our archipelago with my Beloved and kids so they can see how beautiful our home and world is. Thanks for sharing this. And yes, I think we are each islands floating in the ocean of our Father’s love and grace. Again, this was beautiful.

    • Hi, thanks so much for the nomination which I understand is an important award. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (over 160 countries) is already my biggest reward. With regret, I have to decline the nomination. Thank you once again for the nomination which is very much appreciated! Best wishes to you also, Michael

  8. I wish I didn’t have to leave a quick note. Your photography is incredible. Your commentary teaches about light and life, and makes me feel as though I’m there where you were standing at the time. (That’s a little weird–because I tend to keep my thoughts transfixed to the 50 mile radius around my home.) But I’ve got to get out of this house right now before I get blood clots in my legs. (Sorry, too much information.) Ah yes, and the telephone is ringing. And that is my mother on the phone. I look forward to a happy day when I can really settle in and give your blog the appreciation it invites.

Leave a Reply

