113 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

  1. The Croatian homes built into the rocks were great as well as the Fung Huang shot. Reminded me of Venice! You are a great photographer. Thanks for your interest in my blog, too.

  2. Love the diversity of your shots, showing so beautiful some of the places that people call home. I laughed, though, when I read your statement, “My present collection is, of course, limited by my travels.” You’ve traveled to a lot more places than most people and it’s exciting that you still have a zest for travel and a desire to go to new places (and share some of your impressions of those places through your photos).

    • Hi Mike, I would like to shoot, say, people living in igloos, on boats, shanty towns etc. I suppose my zest for travels will decrease with reducing mobility. So I am just travling when I still can. Thanks for the kind comment :-)

    • I had the same thought- you have travelled so widely already! You’re living proof that the more you travel the more you want to travel :). Great shots as always. I wonder how big your collection is and you must be so happy that we now have digital film.

      • Hi, I don’t have a big collection of photos. Sometimes, I feel like I have to travel more otherwise, I will be running out of pictures. I lost almost all my non-digital films ( only slides remained). As you say, I am happy that they are now digital. I suppose you can still lost them if you don’t do backups. Thanks very much for the encouraging and kind comment :-)

  3. Great pictures as usual, thank you for sharing Mr. Lai. The picture of the pharmacy in Annecy appears to be a single tree, with it’s branches trimmed to clear the view, leaving the impression of many plants. Look forward to your next post, greetings.

  4. Wonderful gallery – stunning too. The ZhangJiaJie photo is my favorite – but it was not easy to pick one – as IKEA rightly say; home is the best place in the world.

  5. What a great kaleidoscope of homes–and humanity. I love the balconies overflowing with greenery and wonder what it would be like to have one’s door open onto a canal for a back yard, or have that lovely stone path through a pond as your entryway home, or live in a limestone cave! One thing from here I did try–the yurts. They are surprisingly comfortable, cool in hot weather and warm on cold days, and substantial inside. I remember being mesmerized at how quickly the nomads could assemble and disassemble the yurts, considering how many comforts were hidden inside.

    • I like waching a short documentary ” 6 Billion Others” which only shows for several minutes each time on the TV. People describe their lives and how they live. There is so much diversity. I am glad you like the yurts. I tried a modern one ( a hotel in disguise) and was not totally impressed. Thanks for the kind comment :-)

    • I only took a close look at those deserted. Would be interesting if I could visit one which is occupied to see how people actually live there. Thanks for the kind comment :-)

  6. just lovely – HOME is also a place in your heart and I feel that in your photos! There is a theme in your photos as you take them down through the years, having no idea at the time how they will be used and viewed…..

    • I like your words ” Home is also the place in your heart. . . .”. I actually thought about that and wanted to use to conclude my post. You are right, there are many photos which were taken without knowing how they will finally be used, if used at all. These sorts of photo challenges actualy give me the opportunity to use some of them. Thanks for the kind comment :-)

  7. The most scenic photo is thatch house Japan–more beautiful than what I see in calendars. The one I would live in is the tea plantation, and I would love to know the people who do live there. The best neighborhood to live in is the sea wall apartments in Croatia with patio gardens. This was fun! :)

    • The first picture is my favourite. Undoubtedly people in different parts of the world will have their definition and preference of spaces. I am glad that you raise this point. Thanks for the kind comment :-)

    • I suppose those limestone houses help to cool the temperature down when it is hot but helps to keep the heat in after the sun set. Thanks for the kind comment :-)

    • I suppose those limestone houses help to cool the temperature down when it is hot but helps to keep the heat in after the sun sets. Thanks for the kind comment :-)

  8. So many different homes. I liked the variety of your “home” series. Those slate roofs are something. Wonderful responses to the challenge. Thanks for sharing and thanks for the like on my blog today.

    • I like places where they have some sort of uniformity in the style / color of houses and roofs; like the red roofs in Dubrovnik and the light colored tiled roofs here. suppose those limestone houses help to cool the temperature down when it is hot but helps to keep the heat in after the sun sets. Thanks for the kind comment

    • I like the first one because of the green plants but I like the thatched house for a different reason – like my first painting when I was a kid. Regards, Michael

  9. First of all, I think your photos are great. As for your writing, both the language and the style are excellent. Being modest used to be a virtue, but how rare it is nowadays. I think you are a very creative, talented, original and inspiring man.
    By the way, thank you for the like on my post on London sights.
    All the best, Gordana

    • Hi, having lived in London for a year, I have fond memory of the place. Your post reminds me very much of it. Thanks very much for the encouraging and kind comment :-)

  10. Your selections hardly seem limited but when you put it into perspective of 6 billion people, I guess that’s true. Ha! The home wedged between two cliffs with stepping stones to the front yard thru a lake….that is the most amazing thing, such solitude and no loud neighbours to bother with. :)

  11. I agree with having a home with a lot of plants – I think that that is the ultimate in improving the appearance of a facade and making a home look lived in, taken care of and loved! Very nice pictures

    • Hi, I am very interested in understanding how the 6 billion people in the world lives. I think my pictures only shows a small spectrum of the whole thing. In the future, I hope to gather more photos on this topic and post again. Many thanks for the kind comment :-)

  12. What an interesting theme! Homes…when I was in Venice , I was thinking…”How do these people live in those houses where the front door opens into water” . Not to mention that I would die to visit some of these homes.

    • Hi, I just found your post and have a good read of it. Marvelous and thank you for the sharing. It was like travelling in person through Hall in Tirol. Regards, Michael

      • As I live some 10 km from it, I constantly add photos to it. It’s already my longest post. Do you think I should break it in few shorter ones ? This town is like a box with treasures. There’s every time a new gem in it…

      • Hi, it would be a good idea to form several posts with some theme / special features or points to highlight in each of the post. Having said that, please note I am a novice, I only start blogging 15 months ago. Keep up with the good work and enjoy your blogging :-)

      • I like how you are structuring your posts. No more than 10 pics in one. I don’t want to put back my readers with too much info :D Will keep that in mind.

      • Hi Anna, the other thing is that I don’t have so many pictures – quality photos. As I blog quite regularly, I cannot afford posting too many photos each time. However, for some theme when posting a spectrum of photo helps, I will post as many photos as necessary to support the theme. Regards, Michael

Leave a Reply

