40 comments on “Black and White Weekly Photo Challenge : Upward

  1. What a lovely entry… looks as though that kite needs a good wind to get it up… but clearly it’s heading that way… lovely photo…

    • Hi bulldog, I didn’t want to show photos just looking upward. You may not believe, these guys are very good at getting their kites up. Thanks for the kind words :-)

  2. Stunning shot Michael and you made my day with the Mary Poppins song. It’s one of my most favourite movies of all time. :D
    Thanks for the great entry and for taking part. Much appreciated. :D *hugs*

  3. Missed my kite-flying days on rooftops in Hong Kong and cutting others lines–that no doubt reveals my age! But a digression, if you don’t mind, Michael, is this park the Eco Park where one can see rock formations? I’ll be in HK in November and hope to pay it a visit.

    • Hi Opalla, I miss those good old days too. This is not the Eco Park which I believe is in Sai Kung we have Mai Po for bird watching and Weyland Park not far from Tuen Mun). This is the Tai Po Waterfront Park which is not far from the Tai Po Industrial Estate. They have a dedicated area for kite flying. Regards, Michael

  4. I am always fascinated to see your interpretation of the weekly challenges from Sonel’s corner. You sure do justice to the challenge! Isn’t it interesting the memories and feelings kites can evoke? My sister and I bought a beautiful blue butterfly kite last year (gone are the days of making our own I’m afraid – too many disasters) and we spent nearly an hour trying to get it up while all around us, others were cheerfully flying theirs! Finally, a kind soul came by and showed us that we had one of the parts upside down! Once that was remedied, “up she went”! Soaring so beautiful and free. We go to kite competitions in a community to the north of us each summer. Fantastic is all I can say! Very professional people flying these in tandem, or in formations of 6 or more! Thank you for showing us your kite photo, it makes us happy.

  5. In my old neighborhood in Dorchester (Boston) Massachusetts USA, it was usual on a Sunday to see older Vietnamese and Chinese men flying elaborate kites, usually hand-made, at a sea-side field near my house. Often their grandsons – for some reason, this was exclusively a male activity – were there, too. My favorite was a sea-serpent kite, probably thirty feet long, that would writhe and wriggle against the sky in a most life-like way and which the older men could make swoop toward the group so that the sea-dragon’s painted-on open mouth & teeth would scare the younger boys in a most terrifyingly satisfactory way.

    • Very interesting!
      There are more and more females flying kite now but they are still the minority. In this park I described on the post, there are a couple of ladies flying their kite too.
      The kites I like are the centipedes, the dragon and also a hawk like kite which a friend gave me. As you say, the centipede and the dragon wriggle up in the sky, very cute.
      Thank you for the comment :-)

  6. Michael, you created a wonderful image of a very interesting kite. I love to go to a windy beach and see hundreds flying their kites. Whipping around like bugs at dusk.

  7. Hi Michael, am enjoying reading your travel blogs! Reminds me of a few places I’ve been to like the few years as a resident of HK. :)

      • I enjoyed HK very much where I shared a flat with friends in beacon hill, Kowloon side. Might have a side trip there hopefully early next year. Regards, Wilma.

      • Hi Wilma, not sure when was your last time in HK, it has always changed rapidly. Hope you do finally make it to HK next year. Regards, Michael

Leave a Reply

