114 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

  1. I see you have high winds right now and storms and UTOR is still on track, as far as I can make out from the latest update we have here. Stay safe Michael, hugs from Canada.

  2. Thoughts are with you and yours in the face of the impending typhoon. Be safe! And your posting is wonderful, as always I’m inspired by the many places you have journeyed and how beautifully you share them with us.

    • Dad has taught me honesty is the best policy and I have always stuck to it. Typhoon UTOR is getting away from HK. Typhoon signal lowered to No. 3. Thanks for your concern :-)

    • Glad that you love the pictures. I haven’t blown them up as you have. Hope you like the details in the picture too. Typhoon UTOR is getting away from HK. Typhoon signal lowered to No. 3. Thanks for your concern :-)

  3. Your images are gorgeous! You travel to so many beautiful places; it is pure joy to see where you’ve been.

    Sending prayers and positive thoughts for your safety and well being through the typhoon.

    ~Lindy

    • Hi Lindy, thanks very much for the prayer – my family is in need of them these days. Typhoon UTOR is getting away from HK. Typhoon signal lowered to No. 3. Thanks for your concern :-)

  4. I thought you did a fine job- (don’t know what the challenge was expecting- but if it was interesting pictures, you did great!) Love those pictures. Good luck with the Typhoon- be safe!

  5. What is interesting is how the orientation (landscape vs portrait) and of course cropping change how we viewers focus on the photo and what we notice most about it.

    I hope the typhoon veers off, Michael, and that you are all safe

    • I rather like Landscape. I can really see much details of portrait images on the screen. Typhoon UTOR is getting away from HK. Typhoon signal lowered to No. 3. Thanks for your concern :-)

  6. I think you did just fine putting the photos together. I know I’m still learning (or trying to), especially when it comes to posts turning out exactly how I want them to. The pictures are wonderful. I really liked the cliffs, but it’s sad to think of people using them to commit suicide. The vertical photo of the waterfall in the gorge is really impressive. Excellent work! :)

  7. Nice photos Michael, I particularly like the waterfall. If it’s any consolation I don’t know how to separate photos either! Good luck with the typhoon- stay safe.

  8. Oh my, I hope you are all safe from the typhoon? I have never experienced one but news stories paint a bad picture of them from time to time. I totally “get” the photos. I do not know how to meld them either although people who are very good with photoshop would probably know. They still tell a very good story. It is interesting to see the same picture in both formats. Be well and be safe.

  9. Beautiful photos! Did you try creating a gallery? When you add a new post just select Add Media->Create Gallery. Select the photos you want then select options in the Gallery Settings. Tiled Mosaic or Slideshow are good options to present these type of photos. Hope that helps!

  10. Nice pictures, love the blue waters of china, but as you mention too, the distinction between the two pictures is lost. There’s a photo edit menu that is available when you click on the picture in edit mode that can be used to add borders and format photos..

  11. i look your work alot and enjoy reading your blog often im just figuring out how to put pictures together toooo. um try when you go into your dashboard and see if there is something that says quick post and look around there for an option that says gallery try posting in gallery i have been trying to work with it its interesting but it does seperate them hope everything shall be okay you did a lovely post and i think its good to stick to routine thanks for sharing

  12. Great job on the challenge. There are always subtle differences that we notice when shooting portrait vs landscape. What is lost in a landscape shot can be the focus of attention in a portrait view. Love the blue waters.

  13. Gorgeous photos! And have you seen PicMonkey yet? And online photo editing site? They have a collage feature that would work well even for 2 photos like you did. :)

    Be safe!!

  14. glad to hear UTOR’s high winds have died down. i grew up in the Philippines so i know how devastating typhoons can be. anyway, great shots as always Michael. love the resto shots in budapest. :)

    • Hi, as with many other typhoons, UTOR was formed near the Philippines waters. It created quite a bit of damage in the Philippines and also some flooding. I usually shoot landscapes but I like the restaurant scene so took one portrait as well. Regards, Michael

  15. Wow, 192 likes … excellent – but you always has a lot of likes. Wonderful choice and entry. I hope that UTOR slowed down a bit before reaching land – they always speed up over sea what I understand. Glad you are safe … have only been around in tropic storm in New Orleans the year before Katrina. Tropic storm bad enough for me.

  16. Nice pictures especially the waterfall. I had the same problem with pictures, I could either put left, right or centre but there didn’t seem to be a way of putting two of side by side.

    • Hi, thanks so much for the nomination which I understand is an important award. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (over 160 countries) is already my biggest reward. Thanks for enjoying my posts and thinking of me for the nominations. Regards, Michael

  17. Love the shots from China! Not sure if anyone else has mentioned it in the comments but you might need the Gallery feature. I spent a while working it out for my one shot two ways post as well!

  18. I finally have time to spend some time on your blog. I love being taken on a personal travelogue by Michael Lai! I was struck by what you said at the beginning of your post about not feeling like posting and then sharing that blogging is a ritual. Did you see the quote on Word Press recently about the fact that the more you write the more you feel like writing. I’ve been blogging for less than a year, but I think I have developed a “ritual” as well, something I have not been successful with before, though I’ve always been a writer. I’m very happy you have a ritual. We are all the richer for it.

Leave a Reply

