88 comments on “This is the Type of Photo I Love to Take Lately

  1. Amazing shot. I tend to shake, so without a tripod I could shooting for a while before I achieve the effect that I want. I’m still new to photography, so I’m sure I’ll get better over time.

    • I suppose if you switch on the anti-shake button, hold the camera close to your face and shoot several burst in a row, it may help. Regards, Michael

    • My photos there were taken with speeds of 1/14-1/17 seconds. These are sort of speeds which I have not used before! many thanks for the comment :-)

    • Hi, I am also aware of some negative comments on the risk of respiratory system problems associated with prolonged exposure to burning incense!
      Regards, Michael

  2. Buddhism is one of the most respectable spirituality. This is a great capture, the lighting are perfect. Have a good day!

  3. We often burn incense our Church too. I like it and you’ve captured the mystery of it all in your picture, Michael.
    Leslie

  4. Keep up with the new type of photo. I only shoot in natural light and often have to hand hold because of the location or people that might trip over my tripod. When it’s dark and you get a great photo you really get a sense of satisfaction unlike any other type of photo.

  5. Aha ! – so now you are going to drug us so that we’ll like your work, eh, Michael ? [grin]
    Believe me, you don’t need to. :-D

  6. Thank you for keeping your promise and posting this gorgeous picture – so evocative and quite magical. And yes, burning incense does have a calming effect on many depression sufferers. Great pots:)

  7. Reblogged this on lovehappinessandpeace and commented:
    “Many religious traditions have contended that BURNING INCENSE is good for the soul. Now, biologists have learned that it is good for our brains too. An international team of scientists, including researchers from Johns Hopkins University and the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, describe how burning frankincense (resin from the Boswellia plant) activates poorly understood ion channels in the brain to alleviate ANXIETY or DEPRESSION. This suggests that an entirely new class of depression and anxiety drugs might be right under our noses.”

  8. Nice one, Michael! It has worked quite well hand held – my camera is too heavy for me to hand hold beyond about 1/25th second, plus I get muscle fatigue, so tripod it has to be.

  9. Yes, no tripod? Hold your breath! It’s worth a try! The flight blur here is fitting the topic: incense. Thanks for adding the very interesting research.

  10. Like photo. Glad to hear that incense might have health benefits, because I like it. Although I’m a Christian, I’ve studied Buddhism and have gotten a lot out of it.

  11. Wish I could lend you my tripod! That’s hard to do without one, but it’s a interesting picture. I like the information you found about incense. I can see how it would help in meditation if it has a calming effect. Thank you, too, for liking some of my recent blogs, especially “Voyeur”; that one was difficult for me.

  12. Wow, that’s funny, Michael. I just recently ran a series on the Jade Buddha Temple in Shanghai and on that week’s Fun Photo Friday I ran an image of fire rising from Joss sticks with the temple blurred in the background.

    Guess great photographic minds think alike, eh? Good job.

  13. Beautiful shot, well worth the effort of holding still for a fraction of a second that felt like much longer. I like your blend of the meditative and scientific aspects. Back in the 60′s when I first smelled incense, I found it compelling, maybe my ion channels needed to be opened! Thanks once again Michael for a beautiful and thought-provoking post.
    Jan from curiositycafe via rainbowspinnaker

  14. i’m not at all incensed by that information. amazing photograph, by the way. it looks almost like a monet painting. thanks also for liking my latest post.

Leave a Reply

