Annecy Medieval Town, France

After a refreshing walk by the Annecy lake, we strolled upstream along the banks of the waterway towards the medieval town.  There was a change of scene; the peaceful view of the lake gave way to that of a picturesque town. The multi-colored old buildings on both sides of the waterway captured our eyes.

On one side of the bank, there is a narrow walkway of about 15 ft wide with endless cafes, restaurants and bistros along it,  on the other side, the face of the buildings stood vertically on the edge of the water. This indeed  is one of the most beautiful small cities in France.

Annecy’s medieval town is  a joy to stroll through. The lovely old town with its endless flower-filled  balconies is the main sight.  While the buildings are of different colors,  shapes and heights, when put together they are like a delightful jig-jaw which is picturesque. The colors on the building walls are in harmony with each other and many buildings have  arcades that provide welcome shade on sunny days and shelter during rain or  snow. It was an interesting sight and we were enticed to walk further and further upstream.

Along the waterway were some swans. We were excited in seeing the swans as they are not common at all in our part of the world.

It was also interesting to watch people feeding the swans.

No visit to Annecy is complete without some shopping at the Sunday Market in Annecy’s vielle ville (old town). The Michelin Green Guide calls it the best market in France.

We have always liked visiting the markets on our tours. It gives us a chance of seeing how people live, what people eat and buy in the place. It also gives you a feeling that you are among the people which is completely different from the feeling that your are just passing by, gazing through the windows of a tour bus.

We were amazed to find even footbridge crossings were used as markets. The place was so full of people that very often we have to squeeze through.

It was a Sunday when we were there. While visiting the markets, we were excited by the colors of the market, the goods and vegetable they sold. We found the cheese we bought in the market very yummy and soft; something which we have never tasted before.

Much of the old town of Annecy has only very narrow streets and alleys that  are open to pedestrians only. It is a great town to explore on foot with many  interesting small shops selling all things imaginable.

We have been to many towns which are built by the river, but Annecy is one which is so unique and full of life and colors which we will remember for a long time to come. The town walk is certainly something not to be missed by  architects and artists.

42 thoughts on “Annecy Medieval Town, France

  1. Oh, you make me want to get on a plane! Such great colours, wonderful angles and a truly spectacular place. I love the richness you’ve captured….

    • Hi Vicky,
      Yes, it was the richness of the colors that attracted me. Would like to be back some other time.
      Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking the post.
      Cheers!
      Michael

    • This trip to Annecy has prompted me visiting other old villages in France; they are so delightful!
      Thanks for visiting my blog and liking the post!

  2. Hi, Michael, I wanted you to know how much I enjoyed your pictures of this ancient town. I was in France a few years ago, we did a barge tour of the Burgundy area – it was gorgeous, but not as much as this. I would love to go back and experience more of this beautiful place. I live in the USA, in central west Florida, and while I love our beaches and beautiful areas of America, we just don’t have anyplace that compares with the ancient beauty of Europe. Your photography is very good, and I am impressed with your command of the English language. And it sounds like you are making very good use of your retirement. It’s a different life – I retired several years ago, keep busy with volunteer activities and photography, and love it. I can’t image what it would be like to stop learning (I am 76 years old and am now learning how to play the dulcimer). I envy your freedom to travel in all these different places. Since I can’t do that, I thank you for sharing your lovely pictures.

    • Hi Trish, thanks for liking the blog. I am glad that you are still so active at your age. . . . it is an inspiration to me. Your photos of the beaches and surroundings of central wets Florida are just beautiful! So far, I am enjoying my retirement and hope to travel more. Regards, Michael

  3. Simply stunning. I have added it to my travel list. Strictly for blogging purposes of course! 🙂
    With two blogs, perhaps it will serve me well to report on the area and the poems that come from the views.

  4. Have been in Annecy … a couple of time .. in the 70th., Very pretty .. town, but I can’t recall all the colors that you have captured here. Fantastic job. It make me want to go back.

    • Yes, I used to travel with my family. I thought I took better photos when I travel alone when I was young. Happy New Year of the Snake to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

