Split – Gazing Out to the Sea

8 June is the World Oceans Day recognized by the United Nations. This post is dedicated to the Oceans.

I always have a craze for the sea. Croatia with a long coastline and a romantic view of the blue Adriatic is one of the reasons for picking this country as a destination for travelling.

As a small boy, I have always wandered down to the sea, to see the ocean-going ships which hopefully carry my dreams to far away places. Growing up, I have always like going to beaches and gazing out to the sea. A substantial part of my previous life was to deal with ports and the sea. This has made me all the more attracted to the harbour and anything to do with the sea. We are all in a way tied to the ocean. . . . .

Quoting from John F. Kennedy, “We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.
Once arrived at Split, my eyes were caught by the harbor with the many boats there. Naturally, I wandered down to the harbor to watch the ships. As one who has a fever for the sea, I remember well the poem of John Masefield for his poem, Sea-Fever, which begins:
I must down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea’s face and a grey dawn breaking.

At Split, I wandered down the harbor many times, gazing at vessels of all shapes and sizes.  The harbor is calm and protected from waves. The Adriatic sea has a special peaceful blue color that is hard to describe by words (turquoise?emerald??). Boats in the calm harbor always give me a feeling of peace and freedom. I particularly like the silvery smooth surface of the sea with the reflections of the clouds and vessels on the water.

The setting is beautiful, a bay backed with buildings, old and new, palm trees and the sea is dotted with all kind of boats ranging from fishing boats, yachts, pleasure boats  to work boats and ocean-going liners.

. . . . . .A ship is safe in the harbor, But that’s not what ships are built for.
Because in the sum of our human gleams, We have created the vessel for our dreams.

With the smell of the sea in my nostrils, the sound of the sea in my ears; the touch of the sea spray on my burning face,  I was almost carried away while watching the sea. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

29 thoughts on “Split – Gazing Out to the Sea

  1. Just wonderful as usual Michael. I share your love to be by the water. After living at a lake for 25 years, we’ve recently relocated to the city. The city has it’s merits at this point of our journey but I really miss looking out at the water. This destination is gorgeous!

    • It is a blessing to be able to live near to the sea, lake or river. Many people view Split as a transportation hub where people get on to the other islands from there. As you said, it is a gorgeous destination. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Regards, Michael

  2. I would strongly recommend that you make a trip to Bosnia (Sarajevo, Mostar …). It is secret gem – and very unexpectedly beautiful & dramatic & charming at the same time! My friends loved it

    • I am hearing more and more about the beauty of Bosnia (actually we passed through the coastal part of Bosnia in this trip and were awed by the mariculture). I will include it in my wish list. Thanks for the suggestion and kind comment! Regards, Michael

  3. I love that you quoted Masefield! You hardly ever see that anywhere these days. That’s one of my father’s favorite poems. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog – I can sense a kindred spirit when it comes to loving the ocean – I grew up on an island – I look forward to seeing more of your blog!

  4. This is very nicely written and presented Michael… I would even say in a romantic, idealised way🙂. When we travel we firt we life coming to places, having a smell and taste of them and most of the time we leave taking only the freshest impressions and remain oblivious to the daily grim they can bring… I don’t mean to sound pessimistic about your posts, I, myself am too romantic about “my travel destinations”, it’s just that it is a “different” Split than the one I would post, if I felt a need to😉. I hope you will receive my comment in the spirit it has been written without any mean intention, just as a need to share with you my views. Thank you.

    • Hi Paula, many thanks for your candid comment. I am sure you have read deep into my post, rather than just skimming through my photos as I suppose some of my readers do. I think writings in a way reflect our inner feelings. When I write ( which I am not good at), feelings do get in my way. I think even with the same set of photos, I would present it in a different manner, given another time. I am sure, given your experience with Croatia and your inner moods, you would present it differently too. I don’t pretend that, in fact, my understanding of Croatia, or for that matter, Split is very superficial. In any case, I very much appreciate your comments which are truly from the heart. Regards, Michael

    • Thank you. First of all I appreciate your seeing me as honest🙂, secondly Michael, I don’t consider myself as an athority, but I have a BA in literature, and I am sure I am capable of recognising if someone is good at writing or not… and you are not only proficient in English, but your writing style is neat and clear and straight-forward which, in addition to your way-above average quality photos, is a reason for my coming here time and time again. Bless you Michael. We’ll keep in touch.

    • Hi Paula, I also love your writing style and your photos. For this reason, I am following your blog. Wish you success in your endeavours, Michael

Leave a Reply

