Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

To me , everything is unique but also not unique in a different context.

All of us are unique. The tree outside my window is unique as having its own leaves, roots and life, but also not so unique as there are millions of similar trees in the world.

I was wondering what to show for this week’s photo challenge. Nevertheless. I have come up with a collection which I think is quite rare but you may still consider them not unique.

While travelling to Latvia, we came across this mound full of holy crosses. I have never seen the same before and my experience with so many crosses is unique.DSC_0258

‘Shoes on the Danube Bank’ gives remembrance to the people shot into the Danube during the time of the Arrow Cross terror 1944-1945. Again, I have not seem something similar in my travels.DSCF0179

I have to resort to my old pictures as uniqueness is not discovered every day. Here are some puppets which I came across in Prague, they have a unique space in my memory.My beautiful picture

Scanned from an old slide, the picture shows the Thames Barrier when the sun was setting. This barrier is almost one of its kind, with movable barriers which protect London from unusual tides and surges.23-12-2004 2-50-09 PM_0000

The ‘Bird Nest’ in Beijing, built as a stadium for the Olympics is quite a unique structure which is yet to be copied or duplicated.DSCF2518

The ‘Hanging Temple’ in DaTung, China is unique in that when first built, the whole structure was supported by cantilever beams which were socketed into rock. Some vertical supports are now introduced underneath so as to safeguard against any sudden increase in crowd loading from visitors. The view is just spectacular.DSCF2434

White tigers are close to extinction; understand there maybe 200 of them. The images of the white tigers I have seen have stripes on the body. The one in the picture below, taken in Chimelong, China is almost completely white.CIMG1067

Understand there are quite a few places with free-standing limestone columns. However, those at Cappadocia seem to be the most impressive and picturesque.CIMG0373

The Terracotta Army in Xian, China must be unique. Few people realize that, when first produced, the army figures have colors. The colors only disappeared after burying underground for more than 2000 years. The picture below shows a head of the figure with some colors still intact (after more than 2000 years!).CIMG2372

Uniqueness brings excitement. Hopefully, you will find them unique.