A Word a Week: Island

This week from Sue Ellen is the word Island.

Have always liked islands – I like islands which are sort of small and idyllic.

Of the recent islands I visited, they include Langkawi (Malaysia), Koh Samui (Thailand), Hvar island (Croatia). I have also visited Guam, SaiPan, Hainan island and the outlying islands of Hong Kong (China) but consider the first three islands  more attractive. Some of the islands are in fact countries, like the UK and Japan, I do like their coastlines but they are so big that I rather prefer the smaller ones.

My post on Koh Samui – Island Hopping (https://retireediary.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/koh-samui-islands-hopping/  was  published in April last year. Recently, there has been a big surge in the number of readers. Many of the readers like the photos of the islands showing their different shapes and environment. There is one more photo, belonging to  the same family, which I would like to share – it shows four islands with different shapes and disposition. Together withe blue sky and blue sea, they look surreal.DSC_0664

Are we islands?

In a way, we feel we are all islands, in a common sea ( a quote by  Anna Morrow Lindberg).