Travel Theme: Shadows

Ailsa’s Travel Theme for this week is Shadows.

Do I like shadows? Many times, the shadows just fall on my subject of interest leaving them in the dark or partially in the dark. In those cases, I only have the option of taking a bad picture or not at all. Sometimes, you clearly knew that, you may only pass through this place only once in a life time. So, reluctantly, you took a picture, hoping it may come out alright.

Other times, a shadow may make things more interesting. It may add to the atmosphere or making things more real by giving readers an idea where light is coming from and what funny shadow it casts. I like taking pictures with long shadows but I only have a few of those.

In this collection, I hope to show how shadows add to the picture rather than being a negative.

While walking the narrow streets in Lithuania, I noticed that the street was covered in the shadow resulting in the left hand side having a darker color contrasting with the bright color and details on the right hand side.DSC_0381

While strolling the shores of Hvar island, Croatia, we came across these white balustrades with interesting grey shadows.DSCF0471

The coastline of Hvar island never failed to impress us, these unoccupied benches by the seaside looked inviting. Their shadows imparted a sense of loneliness.DSCF0505

We found this garden by the side of Lake Geneva, Switzerland. The fountain was delightful; but I also like the tree with its shadows on the grass.DSCF1165

Walking around downtown Zurich, there was this statute casting a shadow in the background, making this statute really stood out three dimensionally from the background.DSCF1149

Down under in Australia, we enjoyed the tranquility of Lake Barrine not far from Cairnes. The boat trip on the lake brought us close to trees on the landside, with branches hanging down to the water. While the trees were in the shadows, the aquatic plants and lilies just stood out from the dark background as if the light have chosen just to illuminate them.CIMG0543

We have always enjoyed travelling to Langkawi, Malaysia. The setting sun was low down almost touching the sea. It cast long shadows on the chairs and tables by the beach side.DSC_0216

Again in Langakwi, the palm created a wavy but interesting shadow on the white sand on which it stood.DSC_0083

Last year, on our way to the YunGang Grotto, China viewing some of the biggest buddhas, we passed through this bridge which leads into the site. The bridge piers were basically in a shadow. Still, it couldn’t hide the fine details on the piers.DSCF2338

My pictures with shadows were taken mainly to highlight the portions not covered by the shadows. I must admit that the shadows in the pictures are not the main subject but help to enhance the overall quality. An inspiration from this Travel Theme is that, in future, I should also be shooting pictures with interesting shadows as the main subject.

74 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Shadows

    • I have not taken shadows seriously; I will look for photos with intersting shadows. Right, Langkawi and Latvia are two places which I like very much. Thank for the comment!

  1. i really liked how you perceive the idea of shadows! and whats with all your palm tree photos? they just look postcard perfect! ^_^

  2. Using shadow would make a great theme. I must say I thought the fountain and tree photograph called out to me. I would love to exist in that space in that photograph. All your photographs, however, were exquisite, I just have a real relationship with trees and water. I noticed you are draw to them yourself. Very enjoyable presentation. thank you, jk

    • Hi the secret keeper, I love water and nature. I like that space too and have been staying under the shadow of the tree to have a bit of rest. Thank you for the kind comment!

  3. I’ve always been enamored by the shadows cast by trees. I guess you know which pictures I loved most🙂. Using a polarizer allows one to take good pics even on very bright days. I often prefer to photograph flowers on a slightly overcast day as the colors wash out otherwise.

    • I know I should be using a polarizer; I still hasn’t got one. Quite true, pictures turn out very harsh on a bright hot day with an overhead sun. Thank you🙂

  4. I found myself scrolling back and forth between the shot of Lake Bareen (Australia) and the one at the park by Lake Geneva, comparing the similarities of shapes and proportions in each composition, and contrasting the color palettes of the manicured park against the natural lake setting.

  5. What wonderful shadow pictures, Michael. You always give me something interesting to think about. In my next post I am going to link to this post and I am going to post one of my own shadow pictures. Wasn’t sure about it but you have made me look at it again in a new light, and actually it’s rather wonderful too.

    How much of the year do you spend travelling? Are you ever home?

    Warm regards
    Corinne

  6. I particularly liked the Lake Barrine shot of the water plants but I enjoyed all of today’s pictures… imagining myself there somehow – V

  7. You have some good shadows, indeed – the palm on the white sand is most effective – but in most cases shadows are, and should be, incidental to the main theme. I think to go out chasing shadows would probably be a mistake!🙂

    • The water in the Adriatic is deep blue. Some people say it is because of the dissolved minerals, other people say it is related to the currents in the area. The blue color is really enchanting!

  8. Pingback: How can I let go of the past? | soulsnet

  9. Shadows certainly add a different dynamic to scenic shots. Reflections in the water are add yet another interesting and fluid dimension. These are great photos. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Hi Shelly, both water and shadows are my favourite subjects of photography for the reasons you mentioned. Glad you like the Shadows photo. Thank you for the kind comment!

Leave a Reply

