Travel Theme: Tilted

The theme this week at Where’s My Backpack is Tilted.….

Objects which are naturally tilted are more interesting than those which are tilted with human intention or manipulation; objects tilted by rotating the photo or the camera fall into the latter category.

We were travelling up the very steep hills of Tateyama- Kurobe in Japan. The tram was crowded. No seats were left  and I could hardly stand upright in the tram which took us up the steep incline.

Looking out of the tram window, many trees appeared slanting. I realized that this may only be a perception.  A perception that you get looking out of a tilted window frame as reference when the tram made the ascent.

The view from the tram was picturesque as the autumn foliage was colored. Some trees, I noted, however were tilted naturally. The fact that some of the topsoil gradually slipped down the steep slope has brought the trees along with them.DSC_0084

One tree looked particularly tilted (evidenced by comparing the non-verticality with the neighboring trees). I quickly took a picture while trying to  stand upright, never realizing that I could use such a photo for a challenge . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

27 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Tilted

  1. I always like the way how nature looks naturally without all of the digital adjustments and enhancements! But I also like how artists can take a scene and do an interpretation/composition that is personally memorable and enjoyed by others with brush and paint!

  2. The trouble I find is, if you have no reference point like an horizon or objects that should obviously be straight, it is difficult to tell whether or not I have simply held the camera on the tilt – straightening then is pure guess work!

    • That was exactly the problem I was facing on the tram when all window frames were tilted. This involves some guesswork. The distant mountains and trees seemed to me the best guide for verticality. Thank you 🙂

  3. Good morning Michael
    Nice picture.
    Thank you for your visit with me.
    Have a good day,
    Greetings Andrea sends you

  4. Hi there I have nominated you for “Everyone deserves an award….”

    Please find the information on the below link if you choose to accept the award nomination.

    http://wp.me/p3up8i-9A

    Hope to continue reading brilliant stuffs from you as always.

    Love,
    Shivani Panchmatia

    • Hi Shivani, thanks so much for the nominations which I understand are important awards. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (over 160 countries) is already my biggest reward. Thanks for enjoying my posts and thinking of me for the nominations. Regards, Michael

  5. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if
    it’s the blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.