Black and White Photo Challenge: Texture

This week’s Black and White Challenge at Sonel’s Corner is Texture.

Sonel’s choice to have this challenge in B&W is great; when color is removed from an image, we concentrate more on the quality of the image and the texture of the objects on the photo.DSC_0204A

At Ta Prohm, Angkor Wat the walls and trees form a system which depends on each other. The trees grow around, on and in the walls. Removal of the trees would probably destabilize the walls but some trees growing abnormally, for instance, tilted at an angle or trying to force the masonry blocks apart which may stress the walls and destabilize them.DSC_0218

The walls have a rough texture but some of the carvings on the walls have a finer texture.

The giant roots which engulf the wall also have a texture which is quite characteristic. Together, they give an eerie and crumpling feel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  .

49 thoughts on “Black and White Photo Challenge: Texture

  1. Good morning Michael,
    Huge tree trunk huge roots and beautiful black and white photo s to do so.
    Wish you a beautiful Saturday and Andrea sends vele hugs from me to you

  2. An excellent take on the challenge Michael and as usual your shots are just stunning! I love it! 😀
    Thanks so much for taking part and for showing us this interesting part of the world. 😀

    • Hi Jane, thanks so much for the nomination which I understand is an important award. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (over 160 countries) is already my biggest reward. Thanks for enjoying my posts and thinking of me for the nominations. Regards, Michael

    • I completely understand and I don’t blame you. When I get nominated, I just like to recommend the best blogs I follow and your’s certainly qualifies!

    • Hi, Jane, many thanks for the nomination – I just want focus on blogging and my other personal/ familial commitments. Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing the black and white image of Ta Prohm. I compared my photos of the same subject which were taken in colour (in my post “Somewhere in Time at Angkor Wat”). So different…

Leave a Reply

