Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflection

This week’s photo challenge is Reflection.

Woke up early in the morning and drove north to the place I like dearly – Luk Keng in the north eastern corner of the New Territories, Hong Kong.

I know some birds will be out there waiting for me.

Got out of the car and meeting me was a lone little egret in the shallow water.

The sun has just come up; we were in the golden hour. The tide was out and the reflection of the nearby hills was in the water. This little white egret just stood there motionless as if it was just a decoy. Its reflection was in the water.CIMG3671

It looks as if it was in a deep reflection. . . . . . . . . . . or was it I that was in a deep reflection? I don’t know.

Then the words of Alan Cohen came to me – Everyone and everything that shows up in our life is a reflection of something that is happening inside of us.
It was good that we were in the golden hour. Last Winter, when we were there, we weren’t that lucky.
It was dark, but the birds were also there.CIMG3687
Two white little egrets stood near with their white reflections in the water, and, very far away, there was  a line of egrets standing near to the shore. They look so tiny that many people would not have noticed.
These egrets just sent me into reflections.

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflection

    • As someone who has been living in this city for decades, I have been exploring places which give me tranquility. Glad that you like those places too!

  1. An interesting connection between a reflection, i.e., the image of the egret being mirrored in the water and reflections as in pondering something. Very evocative photos!

  2. These pix are really very special ! The quote from Alan Cohen is also very appropriate. Reflection is both ideological and philosophical to me. It also leads me to a Buddhist teaching: 明鏡亦非台!🙂

    • Hi friendlytm, I don’t think I have yet a good photo which illustrates the ideological / philosophical aspect of reflection in an image. Will keep on finding one. Regards, Michael

Leave a Reply

