A Chinese Gargoyle?

Western architecture made use of Gargoyles to discharge rain water from the roof so they it won’t stain the walls.

A figure, sometimes a grotesque one with a trough behind it,  is judiciously placed to collect water and discharge it at a distance from the walls.CIMG7297

Here is a figure I have taken at the Temple of the Ten Thousand Buddhas.

I don’t think it is a gargoyle; it doesn’t help to discharge rain water ; but it did remind me of gargoyles!

Below is another one showing the frontal view.CIMG7298

Please enjoy 🙂

14 thoughts on “A Chinese Gargoyle?

  1. I love the gargoyles Michael…they are very special and so very different in many buildings in China. I love your blog but something happened and I have been following but not receiving notifications…trying to sort that out now my end.

Leave a Reply

