Are We Born Photographers ( or is photography just easy) ??

When I was a kid, I have a lot of admiration for people taking great photos.

How can such good photos can be captured using a simple and manual camera?

Now with cameras becoming so common and smart phones so handy, many people seem to be able to show off their talents in photography.

Here are two photos taken by my wife today in Glenorchy, near Queensland, South Island of New Zealand.IMG_1145

Both photos were taken with a smartphone.

She is again on a one month tour in the land of Kiwis, while I am holding the fort at home.IMG_1146

One just wonders where did she acquire her skills.

Similarly, my brother who has been residing 40 years abroad, also seems to have acquired excellent techniques. His photos are now featured in Fine Art America:

http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/felix-lai.html?page=1

 

I would say his photos are a lot better than mine. Again, are we born photographers or everybody has this inner skills which only come to the fore when you have ready access to cameras.

68 thoughts on “Are We Born Photographers ( or is photography just easy) ??

  1. I think anyone can take very good photographs but it takes talent to take really great photographs. I’ve seen people take spectacular images with phones and I’ve seen people take rubbish photos with fantastic equipment. To be a talented photographer is to marry an artist’s eye with technical skill.

  2. I have had all sorts of cameras since I was in my early teens in the late 1960’s, each one being the top of the line technology-wise. Sigh! It doesn’t seem to help me though, I take icky pictures no matter what. Either my thumb is in the way or I’m shaking or else I have it framed weird etc., the pictures I take are pretty much just horrible. So in my case, I think I have no inner skills at all that come to the fore or else my skills are very, very shy and do not want to peep out at all lmao!

  3. I believe ALL 3 OF Y’ALL are fantastic photographers! That’s a great blessing, Sir! I’ll just stay a point-and-shoot kind of guy and admire everyone else’s talent! πŸ‘

  4. I started when I was ten, but I too have been eclipsed by my ‘rookie’ wife, who gets featured regularly on amras. Your wife’s pics remind me strongly of Scotland, they’re wonderful.

  5. I think the really good ones (like you guys) can take awesome pictures even with the basic equipment – while the rest of us are a hit and miss πŸ˜‰
    (But of course with patience and practice I believe the aspiring lot of us can also do it, haha! Perhaps not just as easy as it would be for you guys!)

  6. I think people are born with creativity, but it cannot be learned. Just like a car or a bicycle, someone can learn to operate a camera. Before digital cameras, people who didn’t learn how to use one didn’t understand photography at all. Now the camera pretty much does the work for everyone.

  7. Beautiful photos Michael – both your wife’s and brother’s. With regard to your question – I think there are some people who have a natural talent (born with it ) and others who have to study the craft. I have always had a camera since I was a kid but I would never claim to be a photographer. I try to absorb the knowledge of others. I love photography though – it’s my expensive hobby along with piano. I have a friend who takes great portraits and she just “sees the light” – I wish I had this skill:). Also – I rarely use a tripod too – I know I should get better about this :). Great post!!!

    • Hi Nora, it is great to hear from you every now and then. It is good that you also like the piano – the truth is I don’t know how to play even a single musical instrument. Thank you also taking the time to view my brother’s photos!

  8. Your wife’s photos are wonderful.
    I think technology has made photography so much easier. But I still think it takes the gift of “seeing” the shot. (And maybe some good editing πŸ™‚

    • Hi, the photos from my wife were transmitted through the smart phones, I didn’t do much editing on it at all.
      They are of a low resolution so not good for blowing up.

  9. wow. those are some pretty amazing pictures πŸ™‚

    I’m Olvays worst when et comes to capture pictures & every time I feel thankful to my smart-phone for managing wd my bad skills.

  10. Contemporary cameras do make it simpler for an amateur to point and shoot…but it also helps that New Zealand is amazingly photogenic.

  11. When I began photography three years ago, composition came easy. I could visualize the final image. However, the technical aspect of digital photography has been a challenge. How wonderful to be able to combine the two.

    • Some friends of mine like cropping and trimming pictures, I don’t usually do that. Instead, I aim to compose the picture to my liking as much as possible when taking it.

  12. I venture to say that we re born with the perfect camera: the human eye. Takes in everything. Analyzes every object or subject close or distant in a split second. The new cameras become an extension. easy to carry, the optics better everyday in a small volume. Rules of photography? They’re just rules. Selfies were not even thought of by old rule. The self-portraits in facebook for instance violate many rules. If you add to that the fact that there is so much diffusion of “arty” photograph, again the human eye learns from what it sees.
    (Plus photoshop for me has been a blessing. I shoot then crop and edit, reframe, clean up….)

  13. Michael, Thank you for sharing your talents. Let’s not forget the planning it takes to put your camera in exactly the correct place at the most appropriate time. Looking forward to your future posts.

    • Quite true, the day/ month etc of the year dictates what you may come across but there are occidental things which may crop up which makes pictures even more interesting.

  14. I believe we all have an eye (of some sort) for what inspires us, what stands out to be beautiful and peaceful to us, and should we have a camera in hand when we see it – we snap it. What beautiful shots! Sharing in deed!

  15. I do not know the answer as well!

    Your question resonates well with me because I have just been asked the same question by my own brother. My brother is a point and shoot mobile phone photo person. He claims that it is luck when he gets a couple of nice photos.

    To his question, I answered that I cannot pinpoint the reason as well but I think it is based on feeling.

    An excellent photograph is one that has a personal connection with the photographer. Literally, that instant captured took the photographer’s breath away.

    I think, in order to have one’s breath taken away, one could remain childlike and keep wondering. One could also practise gratitude, especially towards Mother Nature. In this way, one could maintain a rhythm and be in tune with one’s surroundings; sense the messages and feel the insights. Hence, one will constantly be in awe and stop to capture that perfect moment that took one’s breath away.

    I think, this is the reason the NatGeo photographs are stunning beyond words. I still have a long way to go.

  16. Everyone is a born observer of the things that inspire them. Not everyone has innate ability to compose a good photo, but that can be learned. Learning the techniques and skills makes you a competent photographer. To become a good one you need to go much further.

Leave a Reply

