Langkawi – Tanjung Rhu Beach, Malaysia

This 1.5 km long Tanjung Rhu beach in Langkawi is perhaps one of the most beautiful beaches in Malaysia and, indeed, may be one of the best in the world. It is fringed by silvery sands, lush forests, pristine waters and overlooking some dreamy islands.

Situated at the northernmost tip of the island, part of it is a  private beach, offering an ideal spot for a secluded getaway. Some tourists travelled to Langkawi are not aware of such a beach as part of the beach is now guarded. The guards for a contemplated Dubai island type development turn outside people away from  visiting this lovely beach; denying them to the public.

Understand from the locals that “Tanjung” means cape and “Rhu” means casuarina. Apart from coconut trees, the beach is dotted with casuarina trees.  The beach is therefore sometimes also called Casuarina Beach. Those willowy trees whisper the call of a tropical breeze that speaks tenderly to those out on the beach.

It is the tranquility of this beach that calls upon travelers to splurge in natural beauty and calm surroundings. One may also stumble upon some really nice corals on the shoreline. It is also a great place for snorkeling.

While there, I couldn’t help remembering a poem ” A Tropical Paradise” by David Harris.

I wonder how many times we sit at our desk and look out the window on a sunny day, wishing we were on a tropical beach lazing in the sun under a coconut tree watching the sparkling waters as they race up the sandy beach.

Having a lazy day with the sand and sea, enjoying Mother Nature’s beautiful bounty.

 A dream maybe, but a dream to help us through any storms that may weather our lives, giving us hope for tomorrow and the sunny day that might bring.

We look at the blue sky and the odd white fluffy clouds that shape into many things, helped along with warm comforting winds.

Our mind is full of images that build our favourite dreams as we while away a few minutes oblivious to everything.

Daydreaming our fondest dreams before reality kicks in and the opalescent workload on our desk appears once again to take us away from our tropical paradise and implant us back in our reality.
27 February 2009

David Harris
I know I am blessed as I don’t have to go to work anymore. At this moment, all that I care  and enjoy are the coconut and the casaurina trees, the white sands, the sea breeze and the soft murmuring sounds of the gentle waves.

57 thoughts on “Langkawi – Tanjung Rhu Beach, Malaysia

  1. It was photos like these that got me through pre-retirement. They helped me keep the dream alive, especially when I had to cancel retirement plans and work a few more years…in cold and snow!
    I now live on an island and beaches, sand, and sun are a part of my life.
    Thanks for reading my blog about a Room with a View in Bali.
    I love your descriptions…poetic.

    • I love reading your blog and admire the life style you are now leading. Everybody needs something to help them through while working hard and looking forward to retirement.
      This is the first time that my descriptions are described as peotic. . . . I feel flattered!

    • I have never taken photography seriously until after retirement when I bought myself a better camera. I still have not taken any photography lessons, learnt how to compose pictures or doing any post processing etc, also, I don’t even have any filters or zoom lens. Maybe, you won’t believe, for many of the pictures taken, I just turn my camera to Automatic. I think I was luck in visitng quite a few lovely places; lovely photos come from lovely places!

  2. Hey Michael! We are going to Langkawi in August. You mentioned part of this beach is Private.. So it is possible to visit the other part of this fantastic beach without being a hotel guest? I hope so!

  3. This is one of my favourite resort and a paradise. You can see my avatar photo is part of Tanjung Rhu Langkawi. I did a 4 nights “stopover” before going to Australia. Beautiful place and would go there again in the future!

    • I am glad that you like this post. While my other posts usually have more than 200 Likes, this one for no reason has fallen short of this. Personally, the photos are some of my best photos on beaches,

  4. Hiya very cool website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb ..
    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds
    also¡KI’m happy to seek out numerous helpful info right here in the post, we’d like work
    out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  5. Having been to Langkawi before, I also like that sun-kissed beach. What an amazing shot of those transparent clear waters! The poem is really a nice match of your beautiful photos!

  6. Wow! First of all, thanks for stopping by and reading my most recent post! Secondly, you couldn’t have picked a better time to do so as I am in Georgetown, Penang right now and have actually been debating whether or not it is worth visiting Langkawi. I read about the limestone caves and cliff near Tanjung Rhu only hours ago and that was pretty much what made up my mind that I needed to go there. I couldn’t believe when I opened up my email just now and saw that someone who liked my post had one of their on about this very beach. I’ll take this as a sign and go check it out for myself tomorrow!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.