Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

We only see because objects are illuminated, either by the sun, the moon, the stars or other artificial sources. In this post, I am trying to limit myself to artificial sources for illumination as otherwise, I may just flood this post with pictures.

Thomas Edison’s invention of the light bulb has forever changed the world. Our activities do not necessarily have to stop after  sunset. The views after dark in many places may also be very attractive.

This is a familiar sight you see every night in Hong Kong if you view from the Kowloon side, weather permitting. Many cities called themselves city of light; HK has the added benefit that it can look so charming in the night with the lights on from the tall buildings fronting the harbour together with the colored reflections in the sea.DSCF2040

The Pest side of Budapest looks so picturesque even during night-time, with the reflection from the River Danube.DSCF0087

The town of Split in Croatia looked ablazed on the night of Saint Domiuus Festival. The blue color came from the blue lights of the stage where they have musical performance.DSCF0404

As always, I am charmed by the  lights and the reflections off the sea. The picture below is the Osaka harbor, Japana with the ferries wheel.DSC_0257

Another example would be the harbor lights in the old port of Dubrovnik, Croatia. The sight was so charming that we couldn’t resist gazing out to the night scenes.DSCF10004

Alfresco dining out in Dubrovnik is an experience that we would not forget. People really seemed to be enjoying themselves and , of course, their dinners.DSCF0766

Walking back to our hotel up hill of the Dubrovnik harbor, we were guided only by the street nights.DSCF0780

You can’t imagine how an airport will work at night without any illumination. The picture below was taken at the Istanbul airport before taking a night flight.DSCF1172

Sorry I have to show this picture again as it shows how the vast space within the Blue Mosque is illuminated by circles of lights hanging from the roof.CIMG0451

Back near home, this is a tea tasting shop in ChongQing, China with cylindrical lights hanging from above at the shop front to attract customers.DSCF6298

Downtown Beijing, China in an area which is named TianJie where they have installed a gigantic TV screen (upper left hand corner) as a big roof over a pedestrian area, with shops on the right.DSCF2772

Again, I can’t help repeat posting a picture which was taken in Luxor, Egypt with the colossal columns illuminated by lights; while seemingly tiny people passed by.My beautiful picture

So, let there be light. . . . . . . . . . .  .  and cast away the darkness.

119 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

    • Hi, I have never thought of having post cards. In my retirement, I am dropping everything requiring serious efforts; in any case, I doubt whether people would buy my post cards. Thank you for the suggestion!

    • Thank you for the kind comment! I hope I have the time to post everyday. When I started blogging, I thought I would have the energy and time to do one post per day and that’s why I call my blog “The Diary of a Retiree”. I don’t think it is possible now!

    • Are you familiar with blipfoto.com? It is a daily photo journal, where you can post only one photo per day, and the photo must be taken on that day. Your photo can be anything you want. It’s great fun and a good little daily challenge. Check it out. And thanks for sharing all your wonderful photos. I sent them on to my sister who lived in China for two years.

  1. What amazing photograph. I use of illumination is awe inspiring. Hong Kong, Budapest and Croatia on the water were especially magical. The chandelier was so surreal from the angle you caught it. Love you work/art. jk

  2. Pardon my errors. I am ill so my mind is not functioning completely. I meant to say your photographs are amazing. And your use of illuminations is awe inspiring but I will add to that by saying it is exceptional. 🙂 jk

  3. It’s amazing how such a simple thing as light generates all kinds of wonderful emotions in us. Great photos once again Michael!

    • Yes, I think there are quite a bit of response from my dear readers. . . with over 200 “likes” in less than two days. Thank you for the kind comment!

  4. Eqypt just amazes me. The fact that they could build something like that without the benefit of heavy duty equipment is astonishing. It’s especially startling when you see how small people seem next to them. I also like all the reflective lights in the water, beautiful

    • Hi Rusha, without the people, there will be no scale to gauge how big those columns are. I got a couple of hotos without the people; but I prefer this one. Thank you for the kind comment!

  5. Your work is of a true artist in action ; ) and we are very lucky. All photos are wonderful and especially I enjoyed the one from Egypt. Thank you!

    • Hi elleturner4, thanks so much for the nomination which I understand is an important award. I have decided not to pursue or accept any nomination / award during my retirement and for this reason, I have already turned down all similar awards. Knowing that my blog is read in many places of the world (160 countries) is already my biggest reward. With regret, I have to decline the nomination. Thank you once again for the nomination which is very much appreciated! Regards, Michael

  6. Good collection of images on an interesting theme. Nice intro – limiting work to artificial light – and some lovely photographs of the many wonderful places you have visited. My favourites were the first and last images – Hong Kong for the range of colours and reflections and Luxor for the dramatic comparison of the ancient man-made columns alongside a few tiny people of the modern age.

  7. Beautiful pictures – very illuminating! I really like the first picture a lot, and the one of Dubrovnik – but they are all fabulous pictures.

    • Hi Victoria, I only have minimal equipment – a Fuji X10 camera (fixed lens, no zoom) and a crappy Casio little camera with zoom. My other cameras are non-digital and are now no longer in use. Regards, Michael

    • You are welcome to reblog provided – 1) this is linked back to the original page and 2) the reblogged page contains no commercial advertisement.
      Best regards, Michael

  8. These are so beautiful, I get completely charmed and have to get snap happy every time I see a sunrise/set but these are equally captivating 🙂

    • We also have a craze about sunset / sunrise/ moon rise but recently I have tried out nightscapes and find it very interetsing too. Glad that you like the photos!

  9. Michael, I must admit to being a bit envious that you’ve been to so many beautiful places.

    What a wonderful collection of photographs, you have a great talent.

  10. Your night scenes shot are always so amazing! I did not have a chance to see the Grand Palace in Budapest at night but it looks more beautiful than watching it during the day. I like to go back to Budapest again.

    • Budapest at night is very beautiful. While there, there were many tourists and photographers taking photos during the night. Many thanks for the kind comment!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.