5400 Miles in the USA (Start of a Series)

I will be starting a new series on the blog.

The posts will be based on a trip which my wife has just completed in the States.

In a period of 45  days, she has travelled by road from San Francisco, onward to many National Parks in California, Nevada, Utah, Arizona and New Mexico.

The photos she brought back show great beauty. Although she is not a keen photographer, many of the images she has taken with my crappy compact camera and her iPhone were just too beautiful not to be shared.CIMG4547

Her trip, starting from SF and back to SF has covered 5,400 miles.

The trip included Mono Lake, Yosemite, Death Valley, Lake Powell, the Canyonlands, Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Mosiac Canyon, Titus Canyon, Sante Fe, Monument Valley, the Arches , Capital Reef NP, Zion NP etc.

The trip also covered the Pacific Highway, from to LA to SF, where there were lots of beautiful scenery of the coast, the sea and the animals like elephant seals.

The only place in this trip that I have visited is SF. So, while responses from readers on the images are welcome, however, I will unlikely be able to respond to the comments.CIMG4257

Some of her photos contain beautiful sunsets taken in the journey. To start with, I am showing one of her sunset photos and a canyon view.

 

71 thoughts on “5400 Miles in the USA (Start of a Series)

  1. I look forward to seeing all of the posts/photos. My husband and I have hiked many of the trails in the national parks and I am likely to see some of my favorite places that we have visited! When I was a teenager my dad took us on a cross country trip from LA,California to New York and Canada back to West Coast, to Vancouver, then SF where we boarded the Lurline for our voyage home. That was nearly 2 mo. trip of seeing America!

  2. Hi Michael, looking forward to your series and i am sure our hearts will be tugged at her shots which i am sure she took with hers on them 🙂 i will have to pray harder to be able to see the other beautiful places your wife had been to. from her list, Bob and i have seen only one… have a blessed day you both! — April

    • Hi April, nice to hear from you again! Hope the upcoming photos won’t disappoint you and that you will be able to visit the other National Parks one day!

  3. What a wonderful trip! My husband and I are retiring in 5 years and are going to live in a motorhome and tour the country. All of those places are on our list to visit. I’m looking forward to your preview!

  4. I am looking forward to it and I am sure the pictures are beautiful. I have never been to the west coast (only to fly through to go to Hawaii) so this will be a treat for me. Blessings!

  5. Oh, exciting! Can’t wait to see more of her trip. I once had a dream on my bucket list to visit every US National Park–but actually just last week found out it’s over 400! It would be very hard to fit in my lifetime, haha. Still, hopefully as many as possible!

    The pictures are gorgeous! Maybe you should have your wife (if she’s up for it), do a few “guest” posts during the series?

    • Wow, didn’t realize that there are so many NPs. There are people who do not like to write – my wife and my- sister- in law, in fact, they take good photos but refuse to write!

    • Yea, neither did I. I guess it’s a good thing really considering how easily space is taken up for more houses and businesses all the time. More NPs means more protected historical places and environments :).

      I guess that makes sense. Not everyone is into everything. Well, I look forward to the photos either way!

    • I like this system of defining areas as NPs so that future developments are not allowed to encroach onto them.
      I have asked around, nobody seem to be interested to be a guest writer – even with enticement!

  6. I’m so very excited about this new phase of your blog. Your wife has seen more of the US on the West Coast than we have, so learning from her experience will enhance our knowledge of the beauty of the area. Looking forward to reading more posts.

    • Hi Rusha, some people like travelling outside their own country – I guess that my wife was doing just that. For a year, I lived in London and travelled around – my colleagues used to say I see more of the UK than they have!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.